#ThanksRESEARCH GALA - May 23, 2019 @ 6pm, The laurel place
911 N. 145th Street, Seattle Wa 98133

NWABR’s annual gala is both a fundraiser and a celebration of biomedical research. 

The purpose of the fundraiser is to raise the money needed to support NWABR’s programs that engage students and community members with biomedical research.  This outreach work is key to creating a generation of supporters, advocates and practitioners in biomedical research. 

The celebration component of the evening is aimed at acknowledging the progress being made in biomedical research in the Pacific Northwest. 

We Will Present:

  • The Alvin J. Thompson Award: this Award reflects the recipients high standing in the life science community with engagement in cutting edge research alongside a commitment to ethical research practices and the advancement of public trust in research. In 2019 the Thompson Award will be presented to the Allen Institute in recognition of the institute's commitment to engaging in cutting edge research, their ethical research practices and for their role in working to advance public trust in research.
  • The Buster and Nancy D. Alvord Award: this Award reflects the recipients' philanthropic contributions to the Northwest alongside their role as an advocate, educator, or donor in support of the local biomedical research community.  In 2019 this Award will be presented to Dr. Steven Gilbert in recognition of his work to raise awareness of Parkinson’s Disease and the potential benefits of Deep Brain Stimulation as a way of managing symptoms of Parkinson’s.  Dr. Gilbert is also a former NWABR Board Member.
  • Honoring a select group of people who have provided exceptional service to NWABR.  These individuals will each receive an Edison Award for their role in Shining a Light on Research.  The thee Edison Award awardees for 2019 will be: 
  • Edison Awardees
    Dr. Benjamin Wilfond (Seattle Children) - in recognition of his long service to the Board of NWABR
    Ms. Cami Gearhart (Quorum Review IRB) - in recognition of her role as Board President of NWABR
    Ms. Cheryl Weaver (Benaroya Research Institute) - in recognition of her role as both Board President and the Immediate Past Board President

If you are interested in attending the 2019 NWABR Gala then please contact Ken Gordon (206 957 3337).



From Left: Frase Family, Paul, Alison and Isabella, Guests and far right Sharie and Dr. Casey Childers

For 2018 the Thompson Award was given to Dr. Martin (Casey) Childers.  The Alvord Award was given to Paul Frase and Alison Rockett-Frase.  Whilst they received separate Awards, Martin, Paul and Alison were recognized for their partnership in developing a genetic treatment for the debilitating and fatal disease Myotubular Myopathy. Their incredible and moving story epitomizes what passionate parents, working with brilliant and dedicated scientists, can achieve.


Paul Frase with Joshua.





 Alison Rockett-Frase.








 Martin Childers.






Proceeds from the gala support NWABR's educational work, engagement with students and the public, in support of NWABR's mission to promote the public's trust in biomedical research and its ethical conduct.

NWABR Distinguished Service Awards

NWABR Distinguished Service Awards are giving to NWABR staff and Board members in honor of their personal contributions to the work of NWABR.  These Awards were instigated in 2016 and the  recipients are:


Lee Schoentrup

James Riddle 

Lynn Rose

Judy Fenyk-Melody


William Dernell

Jennifer Hansberry

Royce Morrison

Stephen Rosenfeld


William (Bill) Dale

Todd Myers

Marcia Johnson-Witter and Max Witter on behalf of the Dean Witter Foundation



Previous Gala Awardees


Share this page   Share Facebook Twitter Email