2020 Portland Clinical Research Professional Conference


LOCATION: OHSU Auditorium. 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road, Portland, OR, 97239.  

DATE: May 6, 2020

TIME: 8.00AM TO 5:00PM - followed by Happy Hour




NWABR, the Oregon Health and Sciences University, the Oregon Chapter of SOCRA and the Pacific Northwest Chapter of ACRP invite you to attend an inaugural Clinical Research Professional Conference in Portland OR.  This CRP conference will be a key component of OHSU's Research Week.

This conference is designed for clinical research professionals who have the role of ensuring the ongoing integrity of research within their institutions.

The sample program for this conference is set out below.  


Registration and Light Breakfast

8:30 to 9:00am

Welcome Remarks – Danny Jacobs, M.D., M.P.H. (OHSU president), Ken Gordon (NWABR), Eric Smith (OHSU), and Rebeka McBride (PNWACRP)

9:00 to 10:00am

Opening Plenary – Dr. Vinay Prasad (OHSU)



10:30 am to Noon


Ted Talk Style Panels followed by Q & A

Regulatory Session

1.  Kindra Cooper (Advarra)

2. Bert Wilkins (WIRB)

3. Kathryn Schuff (OHSU)


Basics of Clinical Research Session – Morning

1.  Rebeka McBride (PNWACRP)

2. Bridget Adams (OHSU)

3. Jennifer J. Cory Doeschot (Stanford)

Specialized topics in Clinical Research

1.  Andrew Watson (OHSU)

2. Crystal Miller (BIOTRONIK)

3. Amy Culley (BIOTRONIK)

Noon to 1:00pm

Lunch Break (Provided)

Sponsor tables in Meeting Hall

1:00 to 2:00pm

Afternoon Plenary – Doug B. Pham, Pharm.D., J.D. (FDA)



2:30 to 3:45pm


Ted Talk Style Panels followed by Q & A

Effective Subject Recruitment and Retention

1. Meredith Zauflik (OHSU)

2. Rochelle Williams-Belizaire (OHSU)

2. Ken Gordon (NWABR)

Basics of Clinical Research Session – Afternoon Award/Operations

1. Melanie Hawkins (OHSU)

2. John Hicks (OHSU)

3. Eric Smith (OHSU)

Administrative Support Systems in Clinical Research

1. Jordan Tapley (Florence Health Care).

2. Brian Farrell (Complion)

3. Mandy Terrill (OHSU)



4:00 to 5:00pm

Closing Plenary – Jennifer J. Cory Doeschot (Stanford)

The Future of Clinical Research

5.00pm to 7:00pm

Happy Hour Sponsored by Florence Health Care



The conference will be hosted in the OHSU Auditorium, 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road, Portland, OR, 97239.  Please note this is the formal address for the OHSU site.  A pdf map with the Auditorium highlighted can be downloaded here.  General transportation and parking directions can be found here  (this includes the option to purchase parking in advance.


CE Credits

The CIP Council has approved this conference for a maximum of 4.25 CIP recertification credits.  The following plenary or breakout sessions have been approved for the hours shown:

  • Breakout session one (Cooper, Wilkins, Schuff): 1.5 hours
  • Afternoon Plenary (Pham): 1 hour
  • Breakout session five (Hawkins, Hicks, Smith): 0.75 hours 
  • Breakout session six (Tapley, Farrell, Terrill): 0.75 hours 
  • Closing Plenary (Cory Doeschot): 1 hour 

The Association of Clinical Research Professionals has approved this event for 6.5 contact hours of clinical research-related education on applications for Maintenance of ACRP’s CCRC®, CCRA®, CPI® or ACRP-CP® certification designations.

The Society of Clinical Research Associates (SOCRA - www.SOCRA.org) accepts documentation of candidate participation in continuing education programs for recertification if the program is applicable to clinical research regulations, operations or management, or to the candidate’s clinical research therapeutic area. This program offers 6 hours of CE credit.

Please note: the ACRP CEUs are free for members of ACRP, however there is a $50 processing fee for non-members.  

Lunch and Refreshments

Light breakfast, lunch and refreshments will be provided.  There will also be a hosted happy hour.


Please Register Here

To assist with planning early registration is encouraged.

Costs:  The cost for this one-day conference is $90 for NWABR, OHSU, ACRP and SOCRA members/staff and $120 for non-members.  This fee covers lunch, refreshments, a conference pack, slides and other background materials. 

It is noted that the first 100 staff members of OHSU were able to register for a heavily discounted rate ($10).  These 100 discounted seats have been claimed and subsequent OHSU registrants will need to access the $90 rate.  We wish to acknowledge the generous support from PhRMA that has allowed for the subsidized registration fees for OHSU staff.


We are recommending that people use the Hyatt House, 921 SW Sixth Ave, Portland OR for their conference accommodation.  This Hotel is fairly accessible to the conference venue.  You can find out more information about the hotel at: Hyatthouseportlanddowntown.com.  To book please call Kaylyn McClaflin (971-274-7115) and she will honor a special small group rate of $189 plus taxes.  You call also email Kaylyn after office hours at: kaylyn.mcclaflin@hyatt.com.


Vendors, staff of NWABR member organizations and ACRP members receive significant conference discounts.  Please contact Ken Gordon (206 957-3337) for discount codes.  You can also email Ken at executivedirector@nwabr.org.

For more information about this conference or if you are interested in being a speaker, vendor or sponsor at the conference please also contact Ken Gordon.  

This conference is made possible by the member organizations of NWABR who provide the seed capital for the planning of these educational opportunities.  Please visit the member page to find out more about each of these amazing organizations.  

This conference is also made possible by the additional sponsorship provided by the following partners:














Share this page   Share Facebook Twitter Email